Frequently Asked Questions
Take this Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Preliminary Eligibility Determination questionnaire and see if you are eligible to obtain a Firearms License before you attend my course. Or you can call them direct at (850) 245-5500 ask for the Concealed License Division.
Applications may be downloaded directly from the Division website.
Yes, click here and have your Tracking Number (T followed by 9â€‹ numbers) and your Date of Birth available.
Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses are valid for a period of 7 years; however, we recommend that you re-qualify regularly in order to maintainâ€‹ proficiency and refresh your firearms safety knowledge.
Currently there are 36 States that are reciprocal to the Florida Concealedâ€‹ Weapons or Firearms License, with limited conditions.
Click here to see a listâ€‹ of those states and their conditions.
Yes, you do not need to be a resident of Florida to obtain your license.
Click here and then click on Police Officer Video to watch an instructionalâ€‹ video on what to do.
No, Florida law imposes a 3-day waiting period between the purchase andâ€‹ retail delivery of any handgun to non-licensed citizens. The waiting period,â€‹ however, does not apply to concealed license holders.
Yes, Florida Statute 790.25(5) states: “It is lawful and is not a violation ofâ€‹ Statute 790.01 for a person 18 years of age or older to possess a â€‹concealed firearm or other weapon for self-defense or other lawful purposeâ€‹ within the interior of a private vehicle, without a license, IF the firearm orâ€‹ other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible forâ€‹ immediate use.”
You are required to notify the Division of Licensing within 30 days if you â€‹hold a Conceal License; for those who hold a “D” and “G” Licenseâ€‹ the change of address MUST be submitted within 10 days.
For the State’s change of address form:
Concealed License, click here.
Security Licenses, click here.
Yes, the license can be renewed if it has not been expired moreâ€‹ than six months.
Click here to access the form.
If the license has been expired for longer than six months,â€‹ the former licensee must re-apply for a new license.
No, There is no firearm registration in Florida.